Top Ten Tuesday: 2014 Releases I Wanted To Read But Didn’t

toptentuesdayToday’s Top Ten Tuesday, brought to you by the bloggers at The Broke and the Bookish, is all about 2014 releases that I didn’t get a chance to read! Most of these are on my priority list of books to read this year, and some of them I have already started!

Top Ten 2014 Releases I Plan On Reading In 2015

IMG_0061 IMG_0063 IMG_0062 brokenhearts athousandpiecesofyou

The Mara Dyer series – I didn’t even learn about this series until the final volume, The Retribution of Mara Dyer, came out just before YALL Fest. But I got to meet author Michelle Hodkin and I’m so happy I did because I just finished reading The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer and I am obsessed! Favorite book of the year so far (I know it’s early but I don’t care). Can’t wait to finish this series, but I already know I’m going to have a major book hangover.

IMG_2451

Meeting Michelle Hodkin at YALL Fest in November :)

The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet – I checked this book out from the library WEEKS ago, but I still haven’t gotten past the first couple of chapters (not because I don’t want to read it!). I know that Ashley Clements, the actress who plays Lizzie in the YouTube series, has narrated the audio book and I’m so tempted to just listen to that during my commute.

Open Road Summer – My friend Regina lent me her copy of Emery Lord’s celebrated debut novel, but I haven’t gotten a chance to read it yet!

Broken Hearts, Fences, and Other Things to Mend – I got this for Christmas so I will be reading it soon!!

A Thousand Pieces of You – I can’t wait to get my hands on this gorgeous novel. I hear it’s a series, too?

Elevated One Safe and Sound Here and Now MTLGTM

Elevated – I think the only reason I didn’t buy this book the moment I heard about it is because it’s written in verse and I have to be in the mood for those types of books. BUT, I still want to read it :)

The Selection series – Now that I finally own The Selection (thanks to my TBTB Secret Santa), I can work on reading this series!

Safe and Sound – Ever since connecting with T.S. Krupa on Twitter I’ve been wanting to read her book. Plus this book takes place in North Carolina and I love that state.

The Here and Now – I love science fiction/fantasy and I love Ann Brashares. I got her to personalize this book for me while I was at YALL Fest so I’m even more excited about actually reading it :)

My True Love Gave To Me – I know, Christmas is over, but we’re reading this book in my Book Club this month and I’m excited! I was also thrilled when my mother-in-law gave it to me for Christmas! I’ve been wanting it for so long.

Are any of these books on your To Be Read List as well? What are some books that were released within the past couple of years that you’re still wanting to read?

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 2014 Releases I Wanted To Read But Didn’t

  1. I’d quite like to read a lot of these books! :-) I love the picture of you and Michelle Hodkin! I hope you enjoy these books when you do get to read them.

  2. Great list! I’ve read A Thousand Pieces of You and LOVED it. It’s really unique! I hope you end up liking it too. Here’s my TTT. Happy reading!

  3. Ahh! I forgot to put A Thousand Pieces Of You on my list! I’m curious to see what you think of The Selection. I thought the first book had a lot of potential to get better but it was just kind of meh. I ended up being really unimpressed.

  4. How do you like My True Love Gave to Me? I was thinking about it, but maybe next Christmas. :) I love the Lizzie Bennett Diaries, but haven’t thought about reading the book.

  5. I have to read Open Road Summer, A Thousand Pieces of You, and Broken Hearts…

    I have two of them on my bookshelf. I just never got to them, but I’m hoping that I will, especially once the weather gets warm.

Leave a comment